Jahream Bula and Jacob Preston co-winners of the81stminute.com Beetson Raudonikis Medal Rookie of the Year


Wests Tigers flyer Jahream Bula and Canterbury’s bustling second-rower Jacob Preston have been announced as co-winners of the Rookie of the Year.

Remarkably, Bula and Preston featured in struggling sides that finished at the wrong end of the table.

Wests Tigers fullback Bula not only showed some classy skills and immense speed amid few chances but was an old head on young shoulders in a side consistently on the wrong side of the scoreline while Preston was a shining light on the edges for the battling Bulldogs and played well beyond his years.

Bula played 18 games for Wests Tigers this season – all as starting fullback while Preston compiled 20 games for the Dogs.

History of the Beetson Raudonikis Medal

Andrew Webster wins Coach of the Year

Jarrod Croker wins 2023 Essence Award

Kodi Nikorima wins Utility MVP

Previous winners of the Rookie of the Year:

2022: Jeremiah Nanai

2021: Josh Schuster

2020: Harry Grant

2019: Payne Haas & Maika Sivo

2018: Jamayne Isaako

2017: Nick Cotric

2016: Ash Taylor

Related Posts