Cleary boys clean up: What if we gave out Arthur Beetson Medal awards today?

August 4, 2020 0 By The81stMinute


Did you know that for six consecutive years the winner of’s Arthur Beetson Medal has gone on to win the Dally M that same season?

Now that’s a stat!

And did you know that since we started giving out our own player of the year award in 2012, just once (2013) has our winner not claimed the Dally M?

Yeah… yeah.. we’re pretty cool.

But what if we gave out the awards today – what would they look like?

Wests Tigers fans wouldn’t be happy but Panthers half Nathan Cleary would take out his first Arthur Beetson Medal. His dad, as selected by us, would take out Coach of the Year too!

Some awards are selected by team including Coach of the Year, Rookie of the Year and Utility MVP.

The 2020 Arthur Beetson Medal will be announced at the completion of the regular season.

Check them all out below.

The 2020 Arthur Beetson Medal is brought to you by Barkingham Palace Dog Grooming

Arthur Beetson Medal: Nathan Cleary
*Based on total votes
Coach of the Year: Ivan Cleary
*Decided by team
Rep Player of the Year: To be determined later in year
Rookie of the Year: Harry Grant*

*Decided by team. Harry Grant is eligible for Rookie of the Year under rules
Utility MVP: Cameron McInnes
*Decided by team Team of the Year
*Based on total votes

1 Ryan Papenhuyzen / Clint Gutherson
2 David Nofoaluma
3 Joey Manu
4 Will Hopoate
5 Brett Morris
6 Cameron Munster
7 Nathan Cleary
8 Reagan Campbell-Gillard
9 Harry Grant
10 Siosiua Taukeiaho / Josh Papalii
11 Tohu Harris
12 Isaah Yeo
13 Jason Taumalolo

Club Player of the Year awards
*Based on total votes

Panthers: Nathan Cleary
Storm: Cameron Munster
Eels: Clint Gutherson
Roosters: Siosiua Taukeiaho / James Tedesco
Raiders: George Williams
Sharks: Shaun Johnson
Knights: Mitchell Pearce / Kalyn Ponga
Rabbitohs: Adam Reynolds
Sea Eagles: Daly Cherry-Evans
Wests Tigers: Harry Grant
Dragons: Cameron McInnes
Warriors: Kodi Nikorima / Blake Green
Cowboys: Jason Taumalolo
Titans: Moeaki Fotuaika
Broncos: Payne Haas
Bulldogs: Will Hopoate / Aiden Tolman

Check out full Arthur Beetson Medal board here:

Share this: