Seven Storm players picked in Australian World Cup squad

The Melbourne Storm will boast seven stars in the Australian side to play at the World Cup including the debuting Jordan Mclean, Cameron Munster and Felise Kaufusi.

Billy Slater also returns while halfback Cooper Cronk will play in the tournament starting in Melbourne in a few weeks.

“This squad has the right mix of youth and experience, as well as an overall balance across the positions for a World Cup campaign,” Kangaroos Coach Mal Meninga said.

“It was selected based on form, performances in the State of Origin series as well as previously in the green and gold jersey.

“We have a number of players who can play multiple positions and that will be an advantage over the course of what we hope will be six matches.”


Squad: Billy Slater, Darius Boyd, Will Chambers, Dane Gagai, Tom Trbojevic, Josh Dugan, Valentine Holmes, Cooper Cronk, Cameron Munster, Michael Morgan, James Maloney. Aaron Woods, David Klemmer, Josh McGuire, Andrew Fifita, Jake Trbojevic, Jordan McLean, Boyd Cordner, Matt Gillett, Tyson Frizell, Wade Graham, Felise Kaufusi, Cameron Smith, Ben Hunt.


Share this:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *