October 20, 2021

NRLW expands to six team competition for start of 2021 season

1 min read

The 2021 NRLW premiership has expanded to six clubs with the Newcastle Knights, Parramatta Eels and Gold Coast Titans added to the competition alongside the Broncos, Roosters and Dragons.

New Zealand Warriors’ women’s team will step away this year before planning to return in 2022.

The season will commence alongside round 23 of the men’s premiership.

“Women’s rugby league is the fastest-growing part of our sport and it’s exciting to be in a position to expand the competition after the success of the last three seasons,” NRL CEO Andrew Abdo said.

“The NRLW competition has produced some of the best athletes in Australia, it’s captivated a new fanbase and today’s expansion will give more players the opportunity to play in an elite competition.”

Plans are in place to include the Warriors and an 8th club in 2022.

Share this:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *