May 14, 2021

Minichiello and Massey headline new class of entries into The81stMinute Hall of Fame

2 min read


Boom! Just like that we have just inducted five new entrants into The81stMinute Hall of Fame headlined by former stars of the game Anthony Minichiello and Wally Prigg.

Check out the current Hall of Fame list here

Here are our five newest entries…


Born in Sydney’s South West, Minichiello played for Valley in the local Western Suburbs Magpies competition before picked up by former Roosters scout, Arthur Beetson. ‘The Count’ would go on to represent the Tricolours on 302 occasions, becoming one of their great captains in the process. The slashing fullback dominated at all levels and won two premierships in a career that spanned fourteen years.


The easiest way to explain Ron Massey’s legacy is to say that without him – Jack Gibson couldn’t have done what he did at Easts or Parramatta. Nor, Wayne Bennett wouldn’t be the coach he has been without Massey either. He was also the CEO of Cronulla in the early 1990’s. We pay tribute to Massey and place him in our Hall of Fame as a coach and administrator.


The old lady is currently get a face lift but the SFS takes its place as our third venue in the venue alongside the SCG and Lang Park. The Moore Park precinct hosted hundreds of magic moments for rugby league including the famous Steve Jackson try in the 1989 grand final, Newcastle’s miracle in 1997 and Canterbury’s incredible comeback against the Eels in 1998.


Those that can remember that far back will remember that Controversy Corner was must-see television. Outspoken Rex ‘Moose’ Mossop anchored the show and was flanked by Alan Clarkson, Noel Kelly, Ferris Ashton and Col Pearce. The last remaining member of Controversy Corner, Kelly, sadly passed away last week.


Named one of the greatest 100 players of all time by the NRL in 2008 and part of the NSW Team of the Century, Prigg made his name as one of the premier players in the game throughout the 1930’s. An Australian captain who played lock-forward, Prigg never played in the Sydney premiership but became the first Kangaroos skipper from the bush and played 19 games for Australia and 34 for NSW.

Share this:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *