Warriors and Raiders to feature in first ever cross-code double header as 2020 NRL draw is announced

Warriors and Raiders to feature in first ever cross-code double header as 2020 NRL draw is announced

October 29, 2019 0 By The81stMinute



The 2020 NRL season will see games played in Gosford, Tamworth, Wagga Wagga, Bathurst, Darwin, Sunshine Coast, Wellington and Perth along with a historic cross-code double header.

In a first for the rival codes, the NRL and Super Rugby will hold a double header in Auckland with the Warriors and Blues pairing up for a huge night in the New Zealand city. They’ll play the Canberra Raiders and the ACT Brumbies.

“Both clubs have worked together in recent years when the opportunity has arisen, and we have been trying to make this idea work for a couple of years,” a statement from the Warriors and Blues reads.

“This year we trialled a single ticket promotion to both of our games on the same weekend and fans from both codes absolutely loved it.

“With both clubs playing Canberra teams on the same weekend, it was the perfect chance to give it a go. It’s exciting and innovative and gives the Vodafone Warriors and the Blues the unique opportunity to celebrate some of the best sporting entertainment that Auckland has to offer.”

The NRL grand final rematch will take place in Perth as the Roosters host the Raiders with the season to kick-off at Bankwest Stadium when old rivals Parramatta and Canterbury clash on March 12.

Wayne Bennett’s Rabbitohs travel to Brisbane and another grudge match against Anthony Seibold’s Broncos in round two.

Canberra is finally getting some love from Channel Nine with seven matches locked in on free-to-air while Souths and Canterbury again do battle on Good Friday.

Wests Tigers and the Sharks will kick off Magic Round in Brisbane on Friday night which has been condensed into a three day event.

Other key dates:

  • NRL Nines in Perth on February 14 and 15
  • All Stars on February 22
  • Women’s State of Origin on June 19
  • Holden State of Origin in Adelaide on June 3
  • Grand Final at the SCG on October 4
  • Round 3 – Rabbitohs versus Roosters
  • Three NRL games on ANZAC Day


Share this: