Arthur Beetson Medal winner announced tonight


The 2019 Arthur Beetson Medal winner will be announced tonight on Twitter and Facebook.

The awards:
☆ Arthur Beetson Medal
☆ Positional Team of the Year
☆ Rookie of the Year
☆ Coach of the Year
☆ Rep Player of the Year
☆ Utility MVP
☆ And each club’s Player of the Year

Since the award’s inception in 2012, only once has our winner/winners not gone on to win the Dally M Medal.

The Arthur Beetson Medal has been previously called the Ultimate Sports Memorabilia Medal, Handyman Magazine Medal and the Steele Sports Medal.

Johnathan Thurston won three consecutive Arthur Beetson Medals: ’14 Thurston and Hayne, ’15 Thurston, ’16 Thurston, Cronk, Taumalolo.

The first ‘Utility MVP’ award was given out in 2017 to Parramatta’s Clint Gutherson.

  • Cameron Smith’s 2017 win was the largest margin since the award began in 2012. Smith won by 7 votes from Mitchell Pearce
  • Kalyn Ponga led the vote in 2018 until the last round until being overtaken by Roger Tuivasa-Sheck
  • Shaun Johnson led the 2016 count with two rounds to play but was overrun by Jason Taumalolo, Johnathan Thurston and Cooper Cronk
  • Jason Taumalolo has won 8 individual The81stMinute awards including an Arthur Beetson Medal, positional awards in the Team of the Year and the Cowboys Player of the Year
  • Despite Manly’s horrible 2018 form, Daly Cherry-Evans won the halfback position in the Team of the Year after polling more votes than any other halfback
  • Our last two Rookie’s of the Year have been wingers: Jamayne Isaako and Nick Cotric
  • The 2019 award is brought to you by Barkingham Palace Dog Grooming

2018: Roger Tuivasa-Sheck
2017: Cameron Smith
2016: Johnathan Thurston, Cooper Cronk, Jason Taumalolo
2015: Johnathan Thurston
2014: Johnathan Thurston, Jarryd Hayne
2013: Greg Inglis
2012: Ben Barba

Share this:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *