Tuivasa-Sheck holds off Fifita to win his first Arthur Beetson Medal


Roger Tuivasa-Sheck is the 2018 Arthur Beetson Medal winner after holding off Cronulla prop Andrew Fifita by a single vote.

RTS finished on 25 points and claimed his third award in the process.

The Warriors captain earlier scored both Fullback of the Year and Warriors Player of the Year.

There was some controversy with Daly Cherry-Evans winning Halfback of the Year despite Manly’s woeful season. Simply, Cherry-Evans polled more votes than any other halfback in the competition.

Full results

Roger Tuivasa-Sheck 25 votes
2nd: Andrew Fifita 24
3rd: Kalyn Ponga 22
4th: Daly Cherry-Evans 20

Rookie: Jamayne Isaako
Coach: Anthony Seibold
Rep: James Tedesco
Utility MVP: Tyrone Peachey

1 Roger Tuivasa-Sheck
2 Corey Oates
3 Latrell Mitchell
4 Greg Inglis
5 Blake Ferguson
6 Cameron Munster
7 Daly Cherry-Evans
8 Andrew Fifita
9 Damien Cook
10 David Klemmer
11 Tevita Pangai Jr
12 Josh Papalii
13 Sam Burgess

Club Player of the Year
Cowboys: Jason Taumalolo
Broncos: Tevita Pangai Jr
Titans: Jai Arrow
Warriors: Roger Tuivasa-Sheck
Storm: Cameron Munster
Raiders: Josh Papalii
Dragons: Gareth Widdop
Eagles: Daly Cherry-Evans
Roosters: Cooper Cronk, Blake Ferguson, James Tedesco

Rabbitohs: Damien Cook, Sam Burgess
Wests Tigers: Luke Brooks
Eels: Nathan Brown
Panthers: James Maloney
Sharks: Andrew Fifita
Bulldogs: David Klemmer

Share this:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *