Hall of Fame: Iconic figures Walters and Moir overlooked for modern day greats


The81stMinute Call Team’s head commentator and editor of the81stminute.com Curtis Woodward has called on the NRL to review how they evaluate the Hall of Fame ballot after all six players announced to be inducted in 2018 come from the modern era.

Former players, historians and media identities – 25 in total – were asked to submit votes on a 5-4-3-2-1 basis.

Ricky Stuart, Petero Civoniceva, Gorden Tallis, Steve Menzies, Cliff Lyons and Mark Graham will be inducted at a gala event at the Sydney Cricket Ground on August 1.

“They’re all worthy but I’m not too sure the right guys went in this time,” Woodward said.

“This is why I think the historians of the game should have more control over these things. Some of these players just retired. How are they ahead of Elwyn Walters or Ian Moir?

“Walters played 20 games for the Kangaroos and won five premierships at two different clubs.

“Ian Moir won three grand finals and scored a hat-trick in one of them. He’s one of the greatest outside backs in rugby league history. The bloke played 110 games for Souths and scored in almost every single game he played.”

Other players to miss out included Greg Alexander, Kevin Walters, Craig Young and Wally O’Connell.

Share this:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *