NRL award to now honour Arthur Beetson

The81stMinute’s annual NRL Player of the Year award will now be known as the Arthur Beetson Medal.

Beetson is one of eight Immortals, represented Australia and Queensland while also winning premierships with both Balmain and Eastern Suburbs.

‘Big Artie’ also won countless other awards pre and post career.

He passed away in 2011.

The award has been won by fellow indigenous icon Johnathan Thurston (three times), Jason Taumalolo, Cooper Cronk, Jarryd Hayne, Greg Inglis, Ben Barba and most recently in 2017 by Cameron Smith.

We thank Steele Sports, Handyman Magazine and Ultimate Sports Memorabilia for sponsoring the award in the past.


Share this:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *