Johnson and Thurston Jostling For Top Spot


Leading into State of Origin III last Wednesday, Warriors superstar Shaun Johnson held the Player of the Year lead.

That was until Thurston led the Queenslanders to a slashing 52-6 series win at Suncorp to regain the Origin shield.

But then Johnson stepped up again on Sunday in a mesmerising performance against the Melbourne Storm helping the Kiwi take back top spot with three votes.

Thurston is gunning to be first player to go back-to-back in our Player of the Year award after also being part of the first twosome to win it in 2014 (with Jarryd Hayne).

Not far away is Blake Austin who was brilliant again on Friday against the Newcastle Knights.

2012 winner Ben Barba is still yet to claim a vote this year while 2013 winner Greg Inglis is back on nine votes with Issac Luke, Mitchell Pearce, Benji Marshall and Corey Norman.

See the full list here after round 18:

Share this:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *